Gustavo Flores-Macias
Email: gaf44@cornell.edu  Institution / Affiliation : Cornell University  EGAP member: No 
Alexander Kustov
Email: akustov@princeton.edu  Institution / Affiliation : Princeton University  EGAP member: No 
Lucia Motolinia Carballo
Email: lucia.motolinia@nyu.edu  Institution / Affiliation : New York University  EGAP member: No 
Jessica Voigt Quintino Pereira
Email: jvoigt@transparencia.org.br  Institution / Affiliation : Transparência Brasil  EGAP member: No 
Manoel Galdino Pereira Neto
Email: mgaldino@transparencia.org.br    EGAP member: No 
Pearce Edwards
Email: pearce.alexander.edwards@emory.edu  Institution / Affiliation : Emory University  EGAP member: No 
Anna Petherick
Email: anna.petherick@bsg.ox.ac.uk  Institution / Affiliation : University of Oxford  EGAP member: No 

Brief 46: Measuring Social Support During Counterinsurgency

Using a survey experiment, the authors randomize indirect and direct questions about support for state forces. The indirect measure is a list experiment, a method used in other contexts to reduce pressure on respondents to falsify preferences, due to fear of coercion or social sanctioning. Under a list experiment, one group receives a list of control items, and another group receives the same list with an item of interest added, and respondents in each sample are asked how many items they support.

English

Brief 45: The Effect of Informing Voters About Incumbent Malfeasance in Brazil

The authors conducted a field experiment in Pernambuco, Brazil, to test whether voters punish politicians that are accused of malfeasance. The authors randomly sampled 3,200 voters two weeks prior to the 2016 municipal elections. A segment of respondents were randomly assigned to receive fliers with information about whether the incumbent mayor was in compliance with government laws and regulations. Other respondents received no information at all.

English

Pages