Brief 30: Electoral Rules in Afghanistan

The sample for the study was composed of 250 villages–each with an average population of roughly 1,000 people–selected from ten districts spanning northern, northeastern, eastern, central, and western Afghanistan (southern areas were excluded due to security concerns). Half of the villages was randomly assigned to hold district elections and the other half to hold at-large elections. Under district elections, the village was split into geographically-defined districts and each villager could only vote for a single candidate residing in the same district.

English
Simone Dietrich
Email: dietrich.simone@gmail.com  Institution / Affiliation : University of Geneva  EGAP member: No 
Soledad Prillaman
Email: soledad.prillaman@nuffield.ox.ac.uk  Institution / Affiliation : Oxford University  EGAP member: Yes 
Nikhar Gaikwad
Email: nikhar.gaikwad@columbia.edu  Institution / Affiliation : Columbia University  EGAP member: Yes 
Pablo Querubin
Email: pablo.querubin@nyu.edu  Institution / Affiliation : New York University  EGAP member: Yes 
Julien Labonne
Email: julien.labonne@bsg.ox.ac.uk  Institution / Affiliation : University of Oxford  EGAP member: Yes 
Saad Gulzar
Email: gulzar@stanford.edu  Institution / Affiliation : Stanford University  EGAP member: Yes 

Pages